Book Review: Love, Rosie – Cecelia Ahern

Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern
Pages: 512 pages
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Chick Lit
Publisher: Hachette Books, November 2004
Link: Amazon

Overall Rating: 5/5 stars
Synopsis: 

Sometimes you have to look at life in a whole new way…

From the bestselling author of PS, I Love You comes a delightfully enchanting novel about what happens when two people who are meant to be together just can’t seem to get it right.

Rosie and Alex are destined for one another, and everyone seems to know it but them. Best friends since childhood, their relationship gets closer by the day, until Alex gets the news that his family is leaving Dublin and moving to Boston. At 17, Rosie and Alex have just started to see each other in a more romantic light. Devastated, the two make plans for Rosie to apply to colleges in the U.S.

She gets into Boston University, Alex gets into Harvard, and everything is falling into place, when on the eve of her departure, Rosie gets news that will change their lives forever: She’s pregnant by a boy she’d gone out with while on the rebound from Alex.

Her dreams for college, Alex, and a glamorous career dashed, Rosie stays in Dublin to become a single mother, while Alex pursues a medical career and a new love in Boston. But destiny is a funny thing, and in this novel, structured as a series of clever e-mails, letters, notes, and a trail of missed opportunities, Alex and Rosie find out that fate isn’t done with them yet.

Review

I watched the movie for this book around a year ago. It made me cry so I read the book to seek out a more detailed version of the story. When I started reading, it was in the form of a letter. I continued reading to find the book was written entirely in the form of text messages, emails, letters, and cards. The movie wasn’t ALL about contacting in these ways so I wasn’t expecting that. Because the book was written in that form, I felt like the author left some parts of the story out since she had to write in past tense.

I thought what Rosie did to get back at Alex was absurd. She lost her virginity after Alex did to a guy who she doesn’t care about. The result is a baby and she has to cancel plans for college. She would’ve been studying hotel management.

”I just get this feeling when I walk into really nice hotels. For me, they represent everything in life that’s luxurious and full of splendor. I love that people pamper you and look after you. Everything is so clean and pristine, so completely perfect.” Rosie types in an email. (pg 398, Ahern)

It’s a serendipity that Rosie has a male for a best friend and her daughter has a male for a best friend as well. The two pairs both end up falling in love with each other which is remarkable. I don’t have a male best friend. I hope my daughter will!

Here are some life quotes from the book that I thought were noteworthy: 

”I think life likes to do that every now and then.Every so often it likes to dip and when you feel like you can’t take it any more, it smooths out again.” (pg 102, Ahern)

”It’s funny because when you’re a child, you believe you can be anything you want to be, go wherever you want to go. There’s no limit to what you can dream. You expect the unexpected, you believe in magic, in fairy tales, and in possibilities. Then you grow older and that innocence is shattered and somewhere along the way the reality of life gets in the way and you’re hit by the realization that you can’t be all you wanted to be, you just might have to settle for a little bit less.” (pg 198, Ahern)

Overall, I rate this book 5/5 stars. I like the plot and I was not bored once when reading it! What are your thoughts on the book? Have you seen the movie?

One thought on “Book Review: Love, Rosie – Cecelia Ahern

  1. I watched the movie a while back at two am in the morning and let me tell you, I was a blubbering mess. I didn’t realize it was based off a book at the time… whoops. I definitely want to get around to reading the novel one day though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

