Book Review: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Pages: 359
Genre: Romance, Gay, Coming of Age
Publisher: 
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, Feb 2012
Link: Amazon

Rating: 3/5 stars
Synopsis: Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Review

I got this book because I saw it on bookstagram accounts and it was new at my library. I don’t like the way the book was written, in prose, so I gave it three stars. I know what prose means because I had to memorize it for my Shakespeare unit in English. I’m still confused though.

I feel bad for spilling water on one page of the book. It’s new and all the other pages are straight while there’s this one crinkled page.

Based on the synopsis on the book jacket (this synopsis is different because I copy and pasted it from online), I guessed they were gay. When they first met and hung out, they weren’t any signs. A year later, things change. There’s a happy ending.

Ari is such a stubborn character. He should at least acknowledge that he saved Dante’s life. He’s different and stubborn which is why he has no friends until Dante comes along.

Leave a Reply

