Book Review: Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon

 

18692431Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
Pages:
Genre:
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers, Sept

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Review

Definitely read this book! There are illustrations designed by the author’s husband.

How Olly and Madeline met is really cute. Guys in real life wouldn’t care about the sick girl next door and write on the window his email so she can contact him.

I wonder what it’s like to be trapped in your house for eighteen years. There’s a whole world out there! Of course, Madeline spends a lot of her time reading. She claims that she’s read more books than the person reading Everything Everything.

Madeline’s new nurse is Janet Pritchert, but the sticky notes she writes to Madeline say “Carla Pritchert”. Her former nurse was Carla, but that’s not her last name. (Page 151)

Spoiler * I think Madeline shouldn’t have had sex with Olly. She’s only known one guy, him, and he’s her first love. I do believe that she loves him though. I just don’t get why she had to do it with him, especially since she’s been in her house for eighteen years and she’s inexperienced with guys.

One thought on “Book Review: Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon

Leave a comment