Book Review: Summer Days & Summer Nights

Summer Days & Summer Nights: 12 Love Stories
P25063781ages: 400
Genre:
Romance
Rating:
 3/5 stars

Synopsis: Maybe it’s the long, lazy days, or maybe it’s the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.

Featuring stories by Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Review 

I wouldn’t have read this book if I didn’t know that the short stories were fast-paced and unsatisfactory. If you do like short stories and romance then read it. There’s a lot of romance.

Fun fact: All the main characters in the book are actually on the front cover. The little details about them will help you tell who’s who. It’s mind blowing to me.

Feel free to read my thoughts on the stories below!

Head, Scales, Tongue, Tail by Leigh Bardugo

I’d read this if it was a novella. There’s some things that are missing. The legends and cryptozoology could be explained more if it was a novella.

The End of Love by Nina LaCour

I like that the author is supporting LGBT with this story. There should be more novels supporting LGBT for young adults.

Last Stand at the Cinegore by Libba Bray

I’d read this if it were a novel. 

Sick Pleasure by Francesca Block

I have no idea what the moral of the story is.

In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins

This is my favorite short story in the entire book. Near the end, the metaphor/ personification conversation between North and Marigold (disguised as a farewell speech to tourists) describing North to the mountain was clever.

Souvenirs by Tim Federle

“Please note that any employee you come across who’s got a name tag on- at a grocery store, at an amusement park- hates it when you address them by their name. Free tip.” (Federle, 158)

Inertia by Veronica Roth

Is read this if it was a a novel. It’s one of the better stories in this book.

Love is the Last Resort by Jon Skovron

I like how the story is narrated. The flirting between Lena and Arlo when they first met is on point and cute.

Good luck and Farewell by Brandy Colbert

I didn’t finish this.

Brand New Attraction by Cassandra Clare

I think it is perfectly fine to lust for your step-cousin.

A Thousand Ways This Could All Go Wrong by Jennifer E. Smith

I learned some more Spanish from this book. I have basketball in common with the characters. Horse in Spanish is caballo.

The Map of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman

I read it on August 4th which is the day of their time loop! I was hoping that Mark would actually get to go to Japan because I’m writing a story set in Japan. I’ve already been there, but I need all the details I can get.

One thought on “Book Review: Summer Days & Summer Nights

  1. Pingback: Book Review: You Know Me Well |

Leave a Reply

