Book Review: Six of Crows

23437156Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Pages: 465
Genre: Fantasy, Adventure
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company, September 2015

Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis:  Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.  

Review

I thought the book was boring for five chapters. I was about to give up on it and stop reading. I didn’t and continued. The synopsis inside the book jacket was interesting and the whole book, after chapters one to five, was accurate to the synopsis. If the synopsis sounds interesting to you, read it and don’t stop until you’re done.

“The easiest way to steal a man’s wallet is to tell him you’re going to steal his watch. You take his attention and direct it where you want it to go.”

I thought this line by Kaz is interesting. Even though I’m not going to steal anything, maybe I can use the trick in the second sentence.

I enjoy Jesper and Wylan’s bromance even though it’s bickering or arguing most of the time. I totally ship them if they were to be gay.

“How many times was it you standing beside me on the deck when I thought it was Kuwei?”-Jesper (pg 453).

This is an important quote, in my opinion, for Jesper and Wylan’s bromance. I thought it was a thing Wylan would do, to stand beside Jesper on the deck. When it was revealed that it was actually Wylan with Kuwei’s face, I was relieved.

Leave a Reply

