Book Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J.K. Rowling

17372039Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Pages: 310
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4/5

Synopsis:  Harry Potter has never played a sport while flying on a broomstick. He’s never worn a Cloak of Invisibility, befriended a giant, or helped hatch a dragon. All Harry knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to a wonderful place he never dreamed existed. There he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic around every corner, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Review

I finally read Harry Potter.! As you can see, I’m not ahead of the game. When I was in elementary school, my peers were reading Harry Potter while I was reading much thinner books such as Rainbow Magic, The Puppy Place, and Magic Tree House. Nobody read anything in middle school and I didn’t know if HP was still popular. Now I’m in high school. I’ve joined the bookstagram community and HP is still popular!

I hope Potterheads won’t get offended, but I think it’s overrated. My opinion might change because I’ve only read the first book, but I can back up my claim. I think it’s because J.K. Rowling created this other world for wizards and witches that Potterheads fantasize about. The book was very creative and enjoyable though. Everyone should read it.

I really want to play Quidditch. I’m a sporty person and my favorite class is physical education. I like being competitive as well and am usually MVP of whatever sport we’re playing for PE. I’d be perfect for Quidditch no matter what my position.

All the Potterheads out there who are reading this, don’t comment something nasty about my opinion because I’m positive it’ll change. You can assure me of that instead.

In addition to reading the book, I also watched the movie. Harry, Ron, and Hermione were so cute. I took a quiz and I’m in the same house as them, Gryffindor. Which house are you in?

Leave a Reply

